Thanksgiving

24 11 2011

I really love Thanksgiving – it’s hard to ruin this holiday. Thanksgiving     can be about nothing more than the name implies… expecting nothing, but giving profound thanks for our imperfect, nutty, busy, fractured, silly, wonderful lives. And since Thanksgiving asks us to slow down and think about all that we have to be thankful for, here are a few things I’ll be doing this weekend:

  • Practicing gratitute. I will, as Ram Dass said, try to “be here now”. I will be in the moment, really be in the moment, and notice what’s around me. And be thankful for all of it. Rosie Cash said, “Just ‘thank you’ is a mighty powerful prayer. Says it all.”
  • Choosing joy. John Milton  said so long ago in Paradise Lost:

The mind is its own place, and in itself

Can make a Heav’n of Hell, a Hell of Heav’n

I hope you have a wonderful holiday.


Actions

Information

2 responses

25 11 2011
Chris Putnam

I thank God for you and Patty. Happy Thanksgiving. Chris Putnam

3 12 2011
Harmony

Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday! I am thankful for kind, thoughtful, passionate people – like YOU!

Leave a Reply

